Menu Icon Search
Close Search

MD Applicants

  • fpo-profile-avatar
  • MmHmm

  • Application cycles: 2013
  • Demographics: Female, 29, Caucasian
  • Home state: Montana
  • Last Active: 11/21/2013
  • Brief Profile: Hello everyone! Here is my brief bio, I was born and raised in northwestern Montana. My home was about a 30 minute drive away from my nearest neighbor and it took me about an hour and a half to drive to school every morning. The area was obviously extremely rural.

    I went through high school insistent on being an artist and went into college with a full ride for my art. However once I got through my first year of college art started to suck. It just wasn't worth it when there was so much pressure to produce. That's when I started exploring my options and found medicine.

    That was also when I moved to D.C. so I have experience with both the rural and urban community (yay me!).

    Because of my economic reality I had to work between 40-60 hours a week outside of school to pay for my education and living expenses, it sucks but it is what is is.

    What I've managed to accomplish!

    Clinical:
    1 year (full time)-->I currently work as a personal/surgical assistant to an oculofacial plastic surgeon. This job is the bomb, I get to work directly with patients, do diagnostic tests and procedures and assist in surgery.

    1.5 years (part time) --> I worked as the head coordinator of a emergency department serving underprivileged and underrepresented minorities. It was crazy but awesome!

    Research:
    1.5 years--> I was awarded the Howard Hughes Medical Institute Fellowship for my research. I worked in a lab testing for genetic expression related to ‘maleness’ lost in hermaphroditic nematode species. I tested tissues of gonochoristic sister species C. remanei with antisense mRNA probes and fluorescently labeled DNA probes through in situ hybridization protocol. I am working on my paper now, hopefully I can get this submitted and published before the year is out.

    Community Service:
    1 year --> Volunteer Orgo and General Chemistry tutor

    1 year --> Patient support in an emergency department (I was basically a peon)

    0.5 year --> Adoption aid at an animal rescue center

    3 years --> French Horn player in a local symphony


    Other work stuff:

    2 years --> MCAT and PCAT tutor/instructor with Kaplan

    1.5 years --> Shift leader at a crappy sandwich place
  • // Applications //

    Application Cycle One: 2013

    • Undergraduate college: University of Maryland
    • Undergraduate Area of study: Biological/Life Sciences
    • Total MCAT SCORE: 513
    • MCAT Section Scores: B/B 129, C/P 127, CARS 129  
    • Overall GPA: 3.76
    • Science GPA: 3.67

    Applied

    Loma Linda University
    University of Colorado

    Application Complete

    George Washington University
    New York University
    Columbia University
    Loyola University Chicago
    University of Southern California
    Tufts University
    Northwestern University
    University of California, Los Angeles

    Application Complete, Rejected

    Boston University
    Johns Hopkins University
    University of Chicago

    Application Complete, Withdrew

    Rush Medical College

    Invited for Interview, Withdrew

    Rosalind Franklin University

    Attended Interview, Rejected

    New York Medical College

    Attended Interview, Waitlisted

    Georgetown University

    Accepted

    University of Maryland

    // Share //

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this application cycle? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this school? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.