Menu Icon Search
Close Search

MD Applicants

  • fpo-profile-avatar
  • lisi326

  • Application cycles: 06/30/2010
  • Demographics: Female, 37, Caucasian
  • Home state: Pennsylvania
  • Last Active: 05/04/2011
  • Brief Profile: The story of a gal who went to a not-too-awesome undergrad/grad school and majored in some pretty weird things and still managed to not do too bad.

    Undergrad GPA: 3.87s, 4.0ao
    Grad GPA: 4.0s, 4.0ao
    -Leadership: board member for my program\'s student group, volunteer committee for my class/organized lots of volunteering opportunities for them, did energy conservation lectures @ MS support groups
    -Research: undergrad honors thesis, 3 paid RA jobs throughout undergrad/grad (Emergency Medicine on cardiac arrest studies (2 years), OT on sensation testing study (1 summer), OT on carpal tunnel/ergonomic keyboard studies (1.5 years), was writing manuscript at time of interviews for pub
    -Volunteer: non-profit that provided housing for families coming to use Pgh hospitals for 3+ years, various hospital volunteering in undergrad (home health, stroke unit, SNF), helped PhD student w dissertation study
    -Clinicals: finished one 1day/wk rotation (community mental health), doing two 1day/wk rotations @ time of interviews (peds w/ autism/PDs, TCU/step down unit), and two full-time rotations left (inpatient stroke rehab, acute care). And I worked as a PCA for a woman with a spinal cord injury.
    -Shadowing: my weakest area. only time with PM&R doc (my area of interest) and urologic surgeon. my clinical exp made up for it, I guess
    -Awards: Dean\'s List every semester, top 2% of class, silly scholarship 3x

    *although I didn\'t claim disadvantaged status, I am a first generation college graduate with parents who got pregnant/married at 18 and struggled a lot through my childhood, amongst some other family issues. I worked all through college and paid for undergrad/grad completely by myself ($160K in debt before starting med school woot!)
  • // Applications //

    Application Cycle One: 06/30/2010

    • Undergraduate college: University of Pittsburgh
    • Institution: University of Pittsburgh
    • Area of Study: Other
    • Degree Obtained: Master of Occupational Therapy
    • Total MCAT SCORE: 520
    • MCAT Section Scores: B/B 131, C/P 128, CARS 130  
    • Overall GPA: 3.95
    • Science GPA: 3.87

    Summary of Application Experience

    I started my Master degree in June of 2009 and quickly realized my decision to not go to medical school was, well, wrong. So I went insane and decided that I needed to start med school as soon as I finished this degree. Unfortunately, I had taken no science classes past Chem/Bio/Physics 1. So I ended up taking the 21 undergrad credits I needed on top of my full-time program (62 credits in 1 year - I don\\\'t recommend), taking the MCAT in the midst of this, and finishing my AMCAS application before I got my MCAT scores. I only applied to 6 schools due to money and time issues.
    As for the interview process, it really wasn\\\'t as bad as I thought. None of my interviewers were terrible or mean and none asked ridiculous questions. I\\\'m a firm believer in just being yourself and not trying to pretend you\\\'re anything you\\\'re not.

    Application Complete, Rejected

    Yale University

    Attended Interview, Rejected

    University of Pittsburgh

    Attended Interview, Waitlisted, Withdrew

    Temple University


    Washington University in St. Louis
    Tufts University
    Case Western Reserve University

    // Share //

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this application cycle? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this school? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.