Menu Icon Search
Close Search

MD Applicants

  • fpo-profile-avatar
  • stephbee

  • Application cycles: 06/30/2011
  • Demographics: Female, 35, Caucasian
  • Home state: Colorado
  • Last Active: 12/21/2011
  • Brief Profile: Biology Major with Distinction (requires a thesis to be written before graduation) , English Minor:

    Near full time employment (30-35 hours a week) since freshman year> unfortunately, because of this massive time requirement, I have less ECs than some people.
    Research in leukemia, 1.5 years, 6-8 hours a week. I\'m writing patents for our research before we can publish anything, poster presentations
    Internship at Univ. Colorado Cancer Center, summer 2010. 35-40 hours a week. Poster presentations. I will be listen as an author when they finish the project I started
    EMT-B : 36 hours of clinical stuff (ER and Ambulance)
    Volunteer in ER and Post-Op: 1 full year, around 100 hours
    Deans List every semester
    TA for Immunology, Tutor for bio classes
    Shadowing ortho and oncologist
    College Ambassador (giving tours, talking about my school etc) since freshman year, 3-5 hours a week during orientation weekends

    I\"ve had a fairly rough life (talked about a lot in my PS) involving some big personal loses in my teenage years.
    Shooting for the stars, MCAT ended up being lower than I expected but c\'est la vie.
  • // Applications //

    Application Cycle One: 06/30/2011

    • Undergraduate college: Syracuse University
    • Undergraduate Area of study: Biological/Life Sciences
    • Total MCAT SCORE: 509
    • MCAT Section Scores: B/B 129, C/P 127, CARS 126  
    • Overall GPA: 3.89
    • Science GPA: 3.85

    Summary of Application Experience

    I\\\'m going to be a reapplicant assuming I don\\\'t make it off Duke or Univ IL\\\'s waitlists.

    Since my last cycle, I\\\'ve shadowed more and continued research. Graduated with my BS in December and moved back home to CO. My mother was recently diagnosed with cancer so I\\\'ve been kind of busy helping her out and working.
    I\\\'m finishing patents for my old PI so he can get papers published.

    Nothing too exciting but hopefully it\\\'s enough to make me look interesting.

    The moral from my last cycle: I applied way too top heavy way too late. Applying to more schools this year with a much wider range of MCAT scores since I figure that will be my limiting factor. My GPA is above average for 90% of the schools I\\\'m applying to so I\\\'m not worried about it, though I may take some grad classes at CU boulder to keep my mind fresh.

    No applications have been submitted yet during this cycle.

    // Share //

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this application cycle? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this school? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.