Menu Icon Search
Close Search

MD Applicants

  • fpo-profile-avatar
  • familyaerospace

  • Application cycles: 06/09/2014
  • Demographics: Male, 39, Caucasian
  • Home state: Georgia
  • Last Active: 06/22/2015
  • Brief Profile: I am a 30-something year old who realised, after getting over a horrible medical phobia, that medicine is where he needs to be. Better late than never I suppose. Also trans and mother of 4. 3/4 white, 1/4 black (don't know why it is only letting me pick Caucasian)

    Current top 5 areas of interest in Medicine

    Aerospace Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Internal Medicine (focusing on LGBT community), Family Practice (focusing on LGBT community), Neurology

    Education

    Education

    Master of Science: Space Studies, University of North Dakota, 2007

    Bachelor of Science: Anthropology and Human Biology, Emory University, 2003
    Also had a second major and two minors

    GPA

    HIGH : 4.0
    FR : 3.09
    SO : 3.56
    JR : 3. 35
    SR : 3.42
    PB : 3.84

    UG cGPA : 3.51
    UG BCPM : 3.60

    Yes, I know, my cGPA and sGPA are pretty close. I feel good about that.

    GRAD cGPA : 3.74
    GRAD BCPM : 3.83

    According to AACOMAS

    cGPA : 3.54
    sGPA : 3.70

    Activities

    3 published journal articles
    7 conference proceedings
    3 radio show interviews as an expert guest
    7+ years of teaching
    5+ years of research
    5+ years of professional service as an officer or committee member (16 positions total)
    20+ years of being involved in performing arts
    3+ years of weekly work for a non-medical nonprofit
    10+ years of business experience as Vice President or President of a company.
    Extensive travel to 3 countries and domestically 46 states

    Letters

    Uploaded so far...

    Doctor - internist
    Doctor - plastic surgeon
    Science - physicist who taught three courses
    Science - astronomer who taught me 3 courses, including 2 graduate courses
    Science - biophysicist
    Non science - anthropologist (former client and former boss), who has known me 8+ years and worked with me for 6 of those years
    Non science - psychologist who advised me on my graduate thesis
    Non science - rabbi
    Peer - former coworker
    Premed Committee Letter - I actually knew the writer too (the dean was my chemistry teacher)
    Work - CEO from when I was a tech transfer consultant

    Shadowing

    Total : 400+ hours

    Areas

    Family Medicine
    Infectious Disease
    Internal Medicine
    Nephrology
    Neurology
    Ob/gyn
    Pediatrics
    Plastic Surgery

    Medical Related

    1.5 years as a technology transfer consultant specializing in life sciences technologies.
    Volunteer work at the hospital - Over 350+ hours in Emergency
    Shadowing - See Above

    GRE : 1160, 5.5 (was required for the post-bacc)

    Application year : 2011 for incoming 2012
  • // Applications //

    Application Cycle One: 06/09/2014

    • Undergraduate college: Emory University
    • Undergraduate Area of study: Psychology/Social Sciences
    • Total MCAT SCORE: 502
    • MCAT Section Scores: B/B 124, C/P 125, CARS 127  
    • Overall GPA: 3.53
    • Science GPA: 3.63

    Summary of Application Experience

    Evidence that even a 26 MCAT and 3.5 GPA can get you into medical school eventually.

    SR = Secondary Received
    SS = Secondary Sent
    II = Invitation to Interview
    I = Interview
    R = Rejected

    Verified: July 2

    Application Complete, Rejected

    Albert Einstein of Yeshiva University

    Attended Interview

    Mercer University

    Accepted off Waitlist

    Medical College of Georgia

    // Share //

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this application cycle? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this school? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.