Menu Icon Search
Close Search

MD Applicants

  • fpo-profile-avatar
  • Klemptor

  • Application cycles: 2009
  • Demographics: Female, 41, Caucasian
  • Home state: Pennsylvania
  • Last Active: 03/14/2010
  • Brief Profile: I am a nontraditional applicant. I did not start college until age 25. Between high school and college, I worked full-time, starting out mucking out stalls at a local stable and working my way up to a coordinator position in both undergraduate medical education and a patient practice at a Philadelphia medical college under one of Philadelphia magazine\'s \'Top Doctors\'. Due to my work experience I have three years of full-time patient contact, and five years total of working in the medical field.

    I am majoring in Biophysics with a minor in French. I have been on the Dean\'s list every semester that I have been in college (except for those when my attendance was less than full-time) and I am a member of Phi Beta Kappa. I am reasonably fluent in French and have done a study abroad program in Paris through the Sorbonne.

    I took the MCAT on June 18th (the 2PM administration) and got a 33N.

    My boyfriend and I have been dating since September of 2000 and have been living together since March of 2002. He is supporting both of us while I pursue my education. For this reason, I am only applying to Philadelphia area medical colleges in my first application cycle, as we hope not to have to move away from here.


    Progress key:
    P - Primary submitted
    SR - Secondary received
    SS - Secondary submitted
    C - Complete
    D - Deferred
    IR - Interview invite received
    I - Interview
    A - Accepted
    WL - Waitlisted
    WD - Withdrew
    R - Rejected
  • // Applications //

    Application Cycle One: 2009

    • Undergraduate college: Temple University
    • Institution: Major is Biophysics, minor is French
    • Area of Study: Other
    • Total MCAT SCORE: 514
    • MCAT Section Scores: B/B 127, C/P 128, CARS 130  
    • Overall GPA: 3.85
    • Science GPA: 3.76

    Summary of Application Experience

    Here\'s a timeline of my application process:
    03.07.2009 - began Kaplan MCAT prep course
    05.15.2009 - filled out AMCAS primary
    05.19.2009 - mailed out transcript request forms
    06.01.2009 - first transcript received by AMCAS
    06.02.2009 - submitted AMCAS primary application; second transcript received by AMCAS; finished MCAT prep course
    06.04.2009 - final transcript received by AMCAS
    06.08.2009 - AMCAS primary application verified and sent to Penn
    06.18.2009 - took the MCAT
    07.21.2009 - received MCAT score
    08.06.2009 - AMCAS snafu fixed; primaries sent to Drexel, Jefferson, and Temple
    08.07.2009 - secondaries sent to Penn and Temple
    08.12.2009 - secondary sent to Jefferson
    09.14.2009 - secondary sent to Drexel
    10.06.2009 - interview invite from Drexel
    11.15.2009 - deferred from Penn
    11.23.2009 - interview invite from Temple
    12.10.2009 - interviewed at Drexel
    02.18.2010 - interviewed at Temple
    03.04.2010 - rejected by Drexel
    03.12.2010 - accepted by Temple!!

    Here are my costs:
    $1700 - Kaplan MCAT prep course
    $225 - MCAT registration
    $253 - primary application
    $20 - LOR processing by my university\'s health professions office
    $80 - Penn secondary
    $70 - Temple secondary
    $80 - Jefferson secondary
    $75 - Drexel secondary
    $430 - suit and alterations (ouch!)
    $100 - Temple tuition deposit

    Application Complete

    University of Pennsylvania
    Jefferson Medical College

    Attended Interview, Rejected

    Drexel University

    Accepted

    Temple University

    // Share //

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this application cycle? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this school? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.