Menu Icon Search
Close Search

MD Applicants

  • fpo-profile-avatar
  • User #16948

  • Application cycles: 2008
  • Demographics: Male, Caucasian
  • Home state: Arkansas
  • Brief Profile: 4 years honors program, 4 months community service at Cancer Support Home, 1000 hours of health care experience including working as a medical historian at a plasma donation center, 5 months working in the CVOR at a local hospital as a perfusion assistant, shadowing several different specialties, Chancellors Scholar, Student Ambassador
  • // Applications //

    Application Cycle One: 2008

    • Undergraduate college: University of Arkansas
    • Undergraduate Area of study: Biological/Life Sciences
    • Total MCAT SCORE: 502
    • MCAT Section Scores: B/B 125, C/P 125, CARS 126  
    • Overall GPA: 3.60
    • Science GPA: 3.44

    Summary of Application Experience

    I knew getting in would be difficult since I got a 24 on the MCAT my first try and a 25 on my second. My superscore was respectable with a 26, but I knew I had to highlight my strengths in my application. I have a lot of clinical experience, so I made sure I talked about that a lot. I also was involved in the honors college and was doing honors research. I feel like my letters of recommendation and my personal statement put me over the top. For my LOR writers I chose a physician, research advisor, and director of my community service involvement, so that the admissions committee could get an idea or the breadth of my experiences. I was the applicant with the 4.0 and 35 on the MCAT, but I made my application work for me. I feel as though I was a well rounded applicant, and I made sure I pointed that out.

    Applied, Rejected

    George Washington University


    University of Arkansas

    // Share //

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this application cycle? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this school? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.