Menu Icon Search
Close Search

MD Applicants

  • fpo-profile-avatar
  • User #16522

  • Application cycles: 2008
  • Demographics: Male, Caucasian
  • Home state: Alabama
  • Last Active: 01/03/2013   -   Latest Activity
  • Brief Profile: UNDERGRAD
    Volunteer at local clinic 100+ hours
    Shadow of an internist 50 hours
    Shadow pediatrician 20 hours (HS)
    Shadow opthamologist 50 hours
    Shadow urologist 20 hours (HS)
    Worked full time support myself while in school as well as help my parents out with their bills (disabled veteran father, high school dropout beautician mother) - gladly done
    Various clubs, no leadership
    SINCE GRADUATION
    Volunteer at local children's hospital 100+ hours
    Shadow pediatric heme/onc 20+ hours
    23 hours post bac credit with 4.0 (PhD level classes) - non-degree seeking
    Helped found a USSF adult soccer league

    2 years as an assitant at a biotech company doing research and development
  • // Applications //

    Application Cycle One: 2008

    • Undergraduate college: Auburn University
    • Undergraduate Area of study: Biological/Life Sciences
    • Total MCAT SCORE: 522
    • MCAT Section Scores: B/B 132, C/P 129, CARS 129  
    • Overall GPA: 3.40
    • Science GPA: 3.30

    Summary of Application Experience

    So this is my 3rd time to apply. I have never applied to more than 4 schools due to financial limitations. I am still helping to support my parents as well as myself as I do whatever I can to convince schools to give me a shot. My undergraduate GPA is low due to a year of 30 hours where I earned a C in 2 classes that comprised 11 hours of credit (sciences). This was due to a family situation that I don't really want to put up here but I can talk about in private if anyone is interested. In short, I was working 50+ hours a week (usually untill 3-4am 5 days a week) to support my parents while in my most difficult year in school (embryology, physiology, biochems, immunology, virology, etc).

    My application is pretty solid aside from my GPA which isn't very indicative of my capabilities. I was on the Dean's List for my first 3 semesters but once things started getting bad at home my grades suffered (3rd year GPA was 2.78). I hope that adcoms look a bit deeper at my application and don't continue to dismiss me because of my GPA.

    I am currently taking graduate courses as a non-degree student (out of pocket) as well as working 50+ hours a week and trying to try time to volunteer, have a social life, and survive.

    I hope this is the last year but it might not be... of all the things I have learned over the last 4 years it is patience. Comment if you wish.

    Application Complete

    Loyola University Chicago
    University of South Alabama

    Attended Interview, Waitlisted

    Tulane University

    Accepted

    University of Alabama

    // Share //

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this application cycle? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.

    × Wait!

    Are you sure you want to delete this school? This will remove all application data and cannot be undone.